Digital Macksville

Macksville, Kansas

6- Emergency Medical Service


6- Emergency Medical Service


Macksville, Kansas -- History

Macksville, Kansas Centennial

Stafford County, Kansas


Section of the Macksville Centennial Book dealing with the Emergency Medical Service.


Macksville History Committee and The Lewis Press, Inc.


Macksville City Library, Macksville, Kansas


Macksville City Library, Macksville, Kansas











Stafford County, Kansas

Macksville History Committee and The Lewis Press, Inc., “6- Emergency Medical Service,” Digital Macksville, accessed May 18, 2024,

these were given as a memorial to friends and loved ones. We have made no attempt to count the many paperback books donated to us by individuals and other libraries. In 1984 we loaned 2997 adult and young adult books, 1088 juvenile books, 99 magazines, and we loaned one book to another library. 136 books were borrowed on interlibrary loan from other libraries, and 9 requests for photocopies were filled.
The Open House held at the library on April 17, 1985 honored both the library’s 50th anniversary and National Library Week. Cake and cookies, coffee and punch were served to 41 well-wishers. We want to thank everyone for taking the time during a very busy day to celebrate with us.
The library hours are Monday, 2:00-5:00 P.M.; Wednesday, 5:00-8:00 P.M.; and Saturday, 2:00-5:00 P.M. We now have a telephone, donated by the English Grain Company, for the convenience of patrons to call in and renew their books during library hours. The number is 348-3555. Come to the library and help us get a good start on our next 50 years.
“The books you read,
Though you may not possess them on a shelf,
Are truly yours,
For they become the treasures of yourself.” MACKSVILLE EMS
First of all, the initials EMS stand for Emergency Medical Service. A number of people in the community in 1979 were interested in care for our people since we lost our ambulance service when Bernard Breitenbach passed away in November 1978 and new laws and regulations were established for Kansas ambulance services.
Since then the ambulance service has been supported through donations, time and service. A fund drive for the ambulance was launched in March 1979 and about $10,000 was collected. A 1969, used ambulance was purchased from Pratt and new equipment was purchased during the summer. In August, 1979 seven people started the class to become certified EMTs (Emergency Medical Technicians). They attended 16 weeks of classes, six hours a week, two nights a week.
The first EMTs to be certified were Ralph Smith, Jerry Williamson, Martha Loy, Robert Wellman, Mary Pontius and Brad Brack. Thus the service was started in November 1979 with six volunteer EMTs. Martha Loy is the only one remaining with the service from this group.
At first dialing 348-2444 rang phones in the homes of the EMTs. Today we have pagers the EMTs carry. The base station is at Parkview Manor nursing home and it activates the pagers.
Our service primarily covers a 25-mile radius but will go where needed. Basically we are life support.
Three runs are the most the service has had in a 24-hour period. The ambulance averages about two runs a week. We have received calls from the Macksville, Belpre, Trousdale and Haviland areas. The patients are usually taken to the nearest hospital.
On July 2, 1981 the first EMT class was held in Macksville. Those attending and receiving certification were Joe Butler, Ray Rains, Fiedellas Loy, T.J. Rawlins, Nancy Rawlins, Judy Seibert, Sybil Vosburgh, Linda Satterlee and Rodney Satterlee.
Once you are certified as an EMT your schooling doesn’t stop there. Each year you are required to attend 9-20 clock hours for recertification.
Our service is using two EMTs and a driver on almost all runs. The state requires one EMT and a certified driver.
In August 1982 the Stafford County Commissioners purchased a new Wheeled Coach ambulance for our service from the Revenue Sharing Fund. They had previously purchased ambulances for the Stafford and St. John hospitals. We are all classified as Type II ambulance services.
Today the local service receives monies from billings, taxes in the county and donations. We receive $7200 from the county but $3000 must be set aside each year for a new ambulance whenever it is needed.
At the present time our local service has 8 voluntary EMTs, 11 voluntary drivers and 1 paid EMT. Certified EMTs are Donna Mollenkamp, Sybil Vosburgh, Martha Loy, Fiedellas Loy, John Drake, Judy Seibert, Nancy Rawlins, T.J. Rawlins, and Gary Nelson. Voluntary drivers are Jerel Hagerman, Donald Sparks, Bill Unruh, Russell Walker, Richard Lucas, Gerald Mollenkamp, Jane Keller, Ralph Jarboe, Mike Benzel, Jim Black and Rick Gibson. Shirley Black and Cathy Delgadillo have taken the EMT course and are currently taking the state board for certification as EMTs.
The EMS has 5-7 elected board of directors. They are Donald Sparks, Gary Nelson, Jerel Hagerman, Judy Seibert, Donna Mollenkamp, and Gerald Mollenkamp. The board of directors and officers are elected each year at our annual meeting which is November 1. Gerald Mollenkamp is our present president and Sybil Vosburgh is secretary-treasurer. John Drake is our training officer.
Written by Sybil Vosburgh
— 15—

Original Format